The Sherwood Anderson Foundation Fiction Award



            The Sherwood Anderson Foundation has been helping developing writers since 1988 in order to honor, preserve, and celebrate the memory and literary work of Sherwood Anderson, American realist of the first half of the twentieth century. 

            The amount of the award each year depends on a number of factors, including the investment market.  The 2005 award was $15,000.  Applications must arrive postmarked no later than April 1 of each year.  The winner will be announced the following September 1 on the foundationšs web site.  If the applications are not deemed to have high literary merit, no award will be made in that year.

            To apply, you should have published at least one book of fiction or a collection of short stories published in major literary and/or commercial publications. Self-published stories do not quality. There is no form to complete, but send a detailed resume that provides a bibliography of your publications.  Include a cover letter that provides a history of your writing experience and your future plans for writing projects.  Also, submit two or three examples of what you consider to be your best work.  We accept manuscripts only in English.  Do not send your work by e-mail. 

            An application fee of $20 should be made payable to The Sherwood Anderson Foundation.  No manuscripts or publications will be returned.  Mail your application and fee, payable by check, to:


The Sherwood Anderson Foundation Fiction Award

C/O Michael M. Spear

Foundation Co-President

                                    216  College Road

                                    Richmond, Va. 23229