The Parts and Arrangement of the Bible

Books of the Old Testament
A. Pentateuch (Greek, "Five-fold scroll"), or Torah (Hebrew "Teaching"), or Law of Moses

B. Historical Books (called "Former Prophets" in the Jewish Bible)

C. Hagiographa (Greek, "Holy Writings")

D. Prophetic Books (called "Latter Prophets" in the Jewish Bible)

*Books marked with an asterisk, being of more recent origin, are included among the Holy Writings in the Hebrew Bible; this section stands after the Former Prophets and the Latter Prophets.

Books in italics are not in the Hebrew Bible, but are included in the Greek and Latin Christian Bibles. In Catholic Bibles they are considered "deutero-canonical," in Protestant Bibles they are called the Apocrypha (Greek, "hidden books") and collected into a separate section between the Old and New Testaments.

Certain Eastern churches include additional ancient Jewish writings in their Old Testaments, notable the Ethiopian Orthodox Church, which includes The Book of Enoch and The Book of Jubilees.

Differences in Psalm Numbering

Divergent Psalm Numbers

 Hebrew numbers

 Greek numbers

 (Used in most English Bibles.)
 (Used in the Latin Bible and
Catholic translations of it.)

















In English Bibles, the first verses of many psalms are treated as unnumbered titles, so that the second verse receives the number 1. In most other languages, including Hebrew, Greek, and Latin,the title is numbered as verse 1 and the second verse is verse 2.

Books of the New Testament

A. Gospels

B. A history of the early church, the second volume of Luke's Gospel

C. Epistles (Greek "Letters") by or ascribed to St. Paul

D. Letters by other Apostles to the universal Church, the "Catholic" or "General" Epistles

E. An eschatological vision

In Luther's translation, Hebrews, James, Jude and Revelation are moved to the very end, reflecting his view that these books are less important. The remaining, more important books are known in Lutheranism as "The Canon within the Canon."

Some translations into Syriac, formerly used in the Syrian Orthodox Churches, have a smaller New Testament that lacks 2 Peter, 2 John, 3 John.